Playing Tour Guide

This past week for 5 days my best friend from college came up to Northern California from San Diego to visit me. So, I got to be a tour guide around my hometown, showing Amanda where I went to High School, my favorite restaurants, and the best places to hike.

Tuesday: We picked Amanda up from the airport, drove back home and then I took her around downtown. We also stopped for a picture at a favorite hiking trail, had lunch at my favorite local spot, and saw La La Land at the theater. IMG_5403.JPG

Wednesday: After breakfast we went out to my grandparent’s farm and showed Amanda around the orchards, had lunch and then went on a rather muddy hike later that day. We finished the day at the taco truck for a $3 burrito. Processed with VSCO with hb2 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Thursday: Probably our craziest day (and by that I mean the most fun). We went out to my Aunt’s farm and took a picture with Millie the llama, gathered the eggs from the chickens, and then took a tour of the rice mill/where they make rice cakes. We even got to eat one right off the press! After our tour, we headed out (or up, I should say) with my cousin in their small plane over the rice fields, a lake, and even over my house. We had lunch at a small local cafe and then went home for some much needed rest.Processed with VSCO with hb2 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Friday: We spend the day just hanging out around locally. We also went and walked around on the campus of a college in town.

Saturday: After going to a coffee shop to read and do some homework, we went to a mexican restaurant for lunch (best fish tacos, ever), and then headed to Sacramento to see the capitol building. After a photo op, we dropped Amanda back at the airport.IMG_5532.JPG

Wow. What a week. That’s what I think whenever I think back to everything we did, and all the sights we saw. It was so fun showing a good friend around where I grew up, and where I did life before moving to college.

So thankful for good friends, family, and a great hometown to share.

Leave a Reply

