Coffee Update: Halfway Done!

b85bce027835eb4fab05e060f9ef1edd.jpgIf you read my last post, you would know that for the month of June I’m not drinking coffee at all. Here’s a halfway update:

  1. I didn’t realize how much I liked coffee until I stopped drinking it. There have been so many days where I’ve been tempted to just drive through Starbucks on the way home from work and pick up an iced vanilla latte. But, I have persevered and resisted.
  2. So far there’s no super noticeable difference in my skin. The research that I’ve done says that for the most part people don’t see a real change in their skin until the 3rd or 4th week. I’m also using a topical 3-step treatment, so if I see a change it will be the combination of using that and not drinking coffee.
  3. I’ve been getting caffeine headaches. You know, the headaches you get when you were too busy to make coffee so you skip it and wait a couple hours. Yeah, I get that headache EVERY. SINGLE. MORNING. at about 9.
  4. On the positive side, I’ve been drinking a lot more water. I try and drink 3 of my Nalgene water bottles (about 32 ounces), which I’ve been doing pretty well. I’d say I average about 2-2.5.

What do I drink instead?

  1. I’ve rekindled my romance with tea. I drink a cup of green tea in the morning and then sometimes another in the afternoon or in the evening. It still doesn’t do the same thing for me that coffee does, but I’m dealing with it.
  2. On that note, I’ve really been enjoying getting iced teas from Starbucks. For one, they’re cheap (a Venti Green Tea is less than $3), and they also are refreshing. I always carry around a couple packets of stevia and I just put two into my drink.
  3. Kombucha-I remember first trying this stuff back at school. I thought that people who drank it were CRAZY! It smelled like vinegar and just kind of grossed me out. However, I decided to try it again out of peer pressure from one of my friends, and this time I really liked it! So I probably drink a few of those a week which is good for my digestion but bad for my wallet.
  4. Water-If you read the other number 4 above, this one will make more sense. I’m basically drowning myself in water these days.

Well, that is my update for the halfway mark in my “Quitting Coffee” journey. I’m convinced that I can keep it up another 2 weeks, as hard as it is. If anything, it’s forcing me to have self-control considering that I have a car and can easily drive through Starbucks if I really need coffee, or I can just pop my mug under the Keurig at home. I’m also becoming very well hydrated, which is never a bad thing in the summer months.

 

Kendra

Leave a Reply

